Situated in an isolated position on the banks of the River Volyňka, a stately three-storeyed building of three wings shows off its lofty Baroque-like front with as many as twelve window axes, the four internal axes being emphasised with a buttress. It was built around 1900 on the site of an original smaller two-winged building, recorded on a cadastral map from 1837. Looked at from the upper section of Sadová Street, this majestic yellow Neo-Baroque building offers a pleasing view against the green background of the slopes of Hajná Mountain, where in mediaeval times the Gold Trail wound its way towards Solná Lhota and further on to the border. Small lanterns above the entrance and all around the building add even more charm to this remarkable work of architecture, which deliberately echoes the original historical style and emphasises beauty, even at the expense of practicality and cost.
The gradually dilapidating building was grandly restored after 1990 and converted into the Amber Anna Hotel. A glass-covered entrance pavilion was added on the side of the river, and the interior was thoroughly adapted for the new purpose. The lounge is adorned with two prominent wooden sculptures: the majestic St. Anne dominates the reception, welcoming all visitors coming through the southern entrance, while the corner to the left offers another gem, a sculptural group portraying a Pieta. Both were carved by unknown masters in the 17th century and restored by Mme Karine Artouni in 1994. Where the Gold Trail once crossed the river Volyňka before its final ascent to Vimperk, the Czech flag flying next to that of the European Union in the extensive car park, constitutes a fitting symbol indicating that this lovely town, a gateway to the Šumava, has become part of a united Europe.